MacPipYour next Mac app is here.macpip.com →
Skip to content

Research

Mac keyboard sound apps in 2026: prices, privacy and macOS support

We checked 18 keyboard sound apps for the Mac on their own pages on 5 November 2026: 7 are free to use, 10 are paid once, and 1 is a subscription. The paid-once apps cost $2.99 to $14.99, with a median of $5.99.

5 of the 18 say they make no network connections at all, 7 work on macOS 13 Ventura (their stated minimum is 13 or lower), and every value below links to the page it came from. Clacky is our app and is included like the others.

Key findings

Each number is counted from the table below.

  • Price: 7 of 18 apps are free to use (4 of them open source: Keyboard Sounds Pro, KeyEcho, Mechvibes, Thock). The 10 paid-once apps cost a median of $5.99, from $2.99 to $14.99, before tax.
  • Subscriptions: 1 of 18 charges monthly or yearly (Tacque, through Setapp). 10 are paid once, and the rest are free or free with paid extras.
  • Network: 5 say they make no network connections (Clank Keys, Kachunk, Keyslam, TypeLouder, Typemac). 4 don't say what they send. The rest go online for licence checks, updates or anonymous counts, as they describe it.
  • macOS: 7 of the 15 apps that state a minimum macOS version work on macOS 13 Ventura (a minimum of 13 or lower). 3 need macOS 15 or later (Klack, Tacque, TypeLouder). 3 run only on Apple silicon (Clank Keys, Haptyk, Keeby).
  • Where to get them: 7 are on the Mac App Store, the rest are direct downloads, on GitHub or on Setapp. 3 say plainly they are not notarized by Apple (Clank Keys, Mechvibes, TapNoise), so macOS asks you to approve them by hand.
  • More than the keyboard: 9 of 18 also play mouse click sounds.

The data

Prices are in US dollars before tax, for the full app paid once (free apps show their paid extras). “Not stated” means we could not find it on the app's own pages. Network: None means the app says it makes no connections, Licence and updates that it goes online only for those, Usage counts that it also sends anonymous counts or analytics, App Store label only that the only statement is the Mac App Store’s Data Not Collected label. Download the data as CSV.

18 apps, every value read on the app's own page on 5 November 2026. Each value links to its source, and the CSV has the full wording. Click a heading to sort.
Clacky (ours)$4.99 once, 1 MacOne-time3 days, no card13.0+Yes (stated)Usage counts
Clank KeysFreeFreeNot needed (free)13.0+No (stated)None (stated)
Haptyk$8 onceOne-time3 days, email, no cardNot statedNot statedUsage counts
KachunkFree with 2 packs, $4.99 once for allFreemiumFree tier (2 packs)13.0+Yes (stated)None (stated)
Keeby$4.99 once, 2 Macs (direct)One-timeNot stated13.0+Yes (stated)Licence and updates
Keyboard Sounds ProFree (MIT)FreeNot needed (free)Not statedNot statedUsage counts
KeyClickerFree, $1.99 lifetime unlockFreemiumFree tier14.0+App Store reviewApp Store label only
KeyEchoFree (AGPL), packs $3.99 each or $9.99 for allFree + paid packsNot stated12.4+App Store reviewLicence and updates
Keyslam$3.99 once, all your MacsOne-time7 days, no card13.0+Not statedNone (stated)
Kiiwi$6.99 once, 2 MacsOne-time3 days, no card14.0+Yes (stated)Licence and updates
Klack$4.99 on the App StoreOne-timeNone15.0+App Store reviewApp Store label only
Klakk$6.99 once on its site. App Store unlock priced separatelyOne-time3 days14.0+Yes (stated)Usage counts
MechvibesFree (MIT)FreeNot needed (free)Not statedNo (stated)Usage counts
TacqueSetapp membership, or the app alone from $4.99Subscription7 days (Setapp membership)15.0+Not statedNot stated
TapNoise$14.99 once, 1 Mac ($20.99 for 2). Lower launch prices for nowOne-timeNone (browser previews, 7-day refund)14.0+No (stated)Licence and updates
ThockFree (MIT)FreeNot needed (free)13.5+Not statedNot stated
TypeLouder$2.99 on the App StoreOne-timeNot stated15.5+App Store reviewNone (stated)
Typemac$7 onceOne-timeNot stated13.0+Not statedNone (stated)

How we checked

One person read every app’s own pages on 5 November 2026 and wrote down only what each page says.

  • Which apps: every keyboard sound app for the Mac in our comparison of keyboard sound apps, which started from what people search for and what AI answers name, plus apps we found on the way. An app needs a page of its own to be included.
  • Where from: the app’s own website, its GitHub README and releases, or its US Mac App Store listing. No reviews, no forums, no guesses. Each value in the table links to the exact page.
  • Network: what the app says it sends. We did not inspect any app’s traffic. A Mac App Store “Data Not Collected” label is shown as the label, not as “no network”, because the label is about collecting data, not about connecting.
  • Notarized: what the page says. Apps on the Mac App Store go through Apple’s review instead. We did not download or run any app to check.
  • Prices: the regular price shown that day, in US dollars before tax. Launch discounts and bundles are in the notes of the CSV.

What this data can’t tell you

It can’t tell you which app sounds best. That is taste, so every app with a demo or a trial is worth hearing first. It also doesn’t measure latency, battery use or how an app behaves in practice, and an app’s own words about privacy are a promise, not an audit.

Prices and features change. If you spot a value that is out of date, write to hello@clacky.app and we will fix it and change the date.

Use this data

You are welcome to quote these numbers or use the CSV in your own article or answer. Please link to this page as the source, with the date it was checked (5 November 2026).

Sources

Every page read on 5 November 2026:

Questions

How much does a keyboard sound app for Mac cost?

Of the 18 apps we checked, 7 are free to use. The paid ones cost $2.99 to $14.99 once, with a median of $5.99 (5 November 2026, before tax).

Are Mac keyboard sound apps subscriptions?

1 of the 18 apps we checked is a subscription. The rest are free, free with paid extras, or paid once.

Which keyboard sound apps for Mac work without the internet?

5 say they make no network connections at all: Clank Keys, Kachunk, Keyslam, TypeLouder, Typemac. Most paid apps check their licence or updates online.

Which keyboard sound apps work on macOS 13 Ventura?

Clacky, Clank Keys, Kachunk, Keeby, KeyEcho, Keyslam, Typemac state macOS 13 or older as their minimum.

Is Clacky the cheapest?

No. Clacky is $4.99 once for 1 Mac after a 3-day free trial, at or below the median of $5.99. 7 apps are free, and 2 paid ones cost less.

Facts checked on 5 November 2026.

Make something on your Mac today.

3 days free, every feature. Then $4.99 once.